Pastor Cantwell’s Libertarian Prayer

statism“When tens of thousands of philosophers and economists are ready to take up arms and lay down their lives and the lives of others for their political goals, I’ll stop giving a shit about the State. Until then, I think it should act in my best interests.” -Christopher Cantwell

Everyone who believes in “Government” wishes the State worked in their interests. In fact, whether one believes in “Government” or not, this is essentially what any sane person would probably say. Who runs around saying “I wish the State (or anyone else) would act against my interests.” ?

This is especially what every “voter” wishes for, though the “voter” does not usually understand that the State is inherently involuntary– I’m not sure what Cantwell’s excuse is.

This is nothing extraordinary by itself, but coming from an “anarchist” it’s pretty interesting, since it’s essentially blind faith religious mumbo jumbo which we regularly debunk in some of the most basic arguments against the State.

The entire issue of the State is that it is compulsory, it imposes against consent by definition, etc. I was under the assumption Cantwell understood this, so I’m not sure what he’s really getting at. It amounts to a prayer which many of his previous writings themselves seem to imply is irrelevant.
They acknowledge the State doesn’t care what they want and imposes against consent by definition, then waste their breath saying they wish the State worked in their best interests.
>”The State imposes on me against my consent by definition.”
>”I think the State should act in my best interests.”

These two cancel each other out. The second one is rendered irrelevant nonsense due to the reality of the first.

He’s basically just saying “I wish for the guy who imposes on me against my consent to work in my best interests.”

 

Leave a Reply

